T.Bird on a Wire


Tagged for Book Meme by Noladawn
August 23, 2006, 1:06 pm
Filed under: blahblahblah

Noladawn’s Book Meme

# Grab the nearest book.
# Open the book to page 123.
# Find the fifth sentence.
# Post the text of the next 3 sentences on your blog along with these instructions.
# Don’t you dare dig for that “cool” or “intellectual” book in your closet! I know you were thinking about it! Just pick up whatever is closest.
# Tag whomever you want, or not.

So my book doesn’t have 123 pages so I just let it fall open to any page and here is what it says:

“So what is your life’s passion? What were you put on this earth to do? The answer to these questions will unlock the great mystery of life; it’s as big as they come.”

This comes from The Meaning of Life by Bradley Trevor Greive.

I thought this was pretty cool since I’m at work and all I really have are technical books until I came across this one. I needed to read more and this is what else it has to say:

“Here are a few hints that may help you get on the right track: First, no one is going to tell you about it. It’s like walking around all day with a sign on your back that says “Kick me.” You must discover it for yourself. It’s also highly unlikely that one day you’ll suddenly be bathed in bright light and your life’s purpose will be laid out in a divine vision, and it’s guaranteed that you won’t find it on television.”

“For some people this will simply be a case of seeking out the moments in their life that are beautiful and true and then building a plan around them. For others it may feel as if they are staring into an abyss In extreme cases, such intense introspection may cause the brain to swell to dangerous dimensions. Trust me, it’s worth the risk. If you ask the big questions and listen carefully to your heart, you will eventually hear destiny call you.”

WOW! I have been soul searching recently because I have been unhappy at my job. I have been here 21 years and do not feel fulfilled. I tell myself I stay here for my family since I am the breadwinner and I still have teenagers at home. Thanks Noladawn for this meme. If you hadn’t tagged me, I wouldn’t have reopened this book and read this. I need to start asking the big questions and listening more carefully.

tcooltext25542040.jpg

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Awesome, see you were meant to be tagged!

Comment by noladawn




Leave a Reply

